When Is The Best Time to Travel New Zealand?

Whenever you choose to, it is the best time to travel New Zealand. However, the summer travel season from October right through to April is the main tourist season. Of course then during the long summer holidays kiwis are on the road travelling up and down the country, going camping, fishing, tramping and enjoying many outdoor related  activities New Zealand is famed for.


Wonderful about New Zealand is that distinctively different geological features are in close proximity. Joined with mild climate and generous hours of sunshine there is plenty to find pleasure in all year round. Natural sights or specific adventure activities motivate travellers’ choices.

Either way what might inspire your wanderlust, planning a New Zealand travel surely can challenge personal decisiveness. There is much to choose from city travel, hiking, beach vacations, game fishing adventures, mountaineering, or skiing, exploring caves, or even the sky. On your best time to travel New Zealand, interchange the joys of nature and solitude with City extravaganza easily.

New Zealand is like a big outdoor adventure playground. Professional guides introduce various outdoor activities, by interest, coaches are there to deepen experiences, or you simply discover and travel New Zealand individually. Then the decision comes down to independent travelling and organised tours.

New Zealand seasons, school holidays or public holidays influence planning in regards the necessity to pre-book overnight stays and tours in advance and ultimately the price.

Go to NZ school holidays....

Go to NZ public holidays....

2014 Term Break

Friday, 3rd July
Friday 25th September
No later than 18th December 2014

 – Monday, 20th July
 - Monday 12th October
 - between26th January and 5th February

2015 Term Break

Thursday, 2nd April
Friday, 3rd July
Friday 25th September
No later than Wednesday, 16th December 2015

 – Monday, 20th April
 – Monday, 20th July
 - Monday 12th October

DK Eyewitness Travel New Zealand

The best time to travel guide to New Zealand includes cutaways, floorplans and reconstructions of the must-see sites, and street-by-street maps of all the cities and towns of New Zealand. This title is packed with photographs and illustrations leading you straight to the best attractions on offer.

New Zealand public holidays

The service of businesses and banks is unavailable on New Zealand public holidays. In cities, bigger shops and malls are open, though sometimes with reduced opening hours. In smaller places it is common, they are closed. More or less all shops close on Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, Good Friday, and on the morning of Anzac Day. On other public holidays in New Zealand, shops are open, in some locations with reduced opening hours. Explore how West Auckland celebrates public holidays ...

20142015

2014

Monday 27th October,
Thursday 25th December,
Friday 26th December,

Labour Day
Christmas Day   
Boxing Day

Regional public holidays

Monday 3rd November,
Friday 14th November,
Monday 1st December,
Monday 1st December,

Marlborough Anniversary
Canterbury Anniversary
Westland Anniversary
Chatham Islands Anniversary

Other days to remember:

14th  February,
Sunday 6st April,
Second Sunday in May,
First Sunday in September,
Sunday 28th September,

Valentine’s Day
Daylight saving ends
Mother's Day 
Father's Day
Daylight saving starts

2015 Term Break

Thursday 1st January,
Friday 2nd January,
Friday 6th February,
Friday 3rd April,
Monday 6th April,
Saturday 25th or Monday 27th April,
Monday 1st June,
Monday 26th October,
Friday 25th    December,
Saturday 26th or Monday 28th December,

New Year's Day
Day after New Year's Day   
Waitangi Day   
Good Friday   
Easter Monday
ANZAC Day
Queen's Birthday   
Labour Day
Christmas Day
Boxing Day   

Best Time to Travel on Regional public holidays

Monday 19th January,
Monday 26th January,
Monday 2nd February,
Monday 9th March,
Monday 23rd March,
Tuesday 7th April,
Monday 28th September,
Friday 23rd October,
Monday 2nd November,
Monday 30th November,
Monday 30th November,
Friday 13th November,

Wellington Anniversary
Auckland Anniversary
Nelson Anniversary   
Taranaki Anniversary   
Otago Anniversary   
Southland Anniversary   
South Canterbury Anniversary
Hawke's Bay Anniversary   
Marlborough Anniversary   
Chatham Islands Anniversary   
Westland Anniversary   
Canterbury Anniversary

Other days to remember:

14 February,
Sunday 5th April,
Second Sunday in May,
First Sunday in September,
Sunday 27th September,

Valentines Day
Daylight Saving ends
Mother's Day
Father's Day
Daylight Saving starts

Travel related pages:

Independent bus travel
Travel by van
Train travel
Cycle New Zealand

Places to stay


Return to top

| | Best Time to Travel New Zealand


New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.